IMF: Nigeria not among 25 countries to receive debt service relief

Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund, (IMF) on Monday has issued a statement that IMF has granted debt relief to 25 countries.

“Today, I am pleased to say that our Executive Board approved immediate debt service relief to 25 of the IMF’s member countries under the IMF’s revamped Catastrophe Containment and Relief Trust (CCRT) as part of the Fund’s response to help address the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic,” Kristalina Georgieva said.

“This provides grants to our poorest and most vulnerable members to cover their IMF debt obligations for an initial phase over the next six months and will help them channel more of their scarce financial resources towards vital emergency medical and other relief efforts.”

Nigerian singer Davido gifts staff New house in lekki

IMF donor countries

Also the IMF said that CCRT can currently provide about US$500 million in grant-based debt service relief, including the recent $185 million pledge by the U.K. and $100 million provided by Japan as immediately available resources.

Others countries too, including China and the Netherlands, are also stepping forward with important contributions.

Ms Giorgieva encourage other donors to help the IMF replenish the Trust’s resources and boost further its capacity to provide additional debt service relief for a full two years to its poorest member countries.

Countries that received debt service from IMF

The countries in general that will receive debt service relief from IMF are Afghanistan, Benin, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, D.R., The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali and Mozambiqud.

See ongoing undergraduates scholarships, Apply now

Others countries to receive the relief are Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Togo, and Yemen.